The role of the government is to protect the country and provide urban infrastructure (roads, water supplies etc). All other services (education, health etc) should be provided by private companies.' To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

No-one would dispute the responsibility of governments to provide defence capability and ensure that the country has the basic infrastructure in place to develop and prosper. However the question of privatisation, which involves selling off state assets to private companies over which the government has no control, is a highly controversial issue. In this essay I will argue that in my personal experience, privatisation has had a detrimental effect on the affordability and quality of services, and those who cannot afford to pay are as always the ones who suffer the most. Many people believe that if services such as transport and energy are privately owned, there is increased competition between providers, which leads to lower prices, better quality of service and the development of new services. However, if we take British Rail as an example, privatisation has resulted in cuts to local services, frequent delays and cancellations and astronomical price hikes. A similar effect could be seen when gas and electricity provision was sold off to the highest bidder. Yes, it produced a multitude of companies vying for your custom, but rates are soaring out of control, leaving the vulnerable and elderly having to switch off their heating in the depths of winter. When it comes to industries such as health care and education it is often argued that private companies are more efficient, cutting any surplus costs where necessary and incentivising workers with bonuses and rewards for results. Yet in these industries, the profit motive should not be the primary objective. For example, in the case of health care, privatising health provision would mean a greater priority is given to profit rather than patient care. Also, when doctors treat patients, they are unlikely to try harder if they get a bonus. To sum up, I believe that services such as the ones described above should be returned to public ownership where there will be more control and less focus on profits over people.