Today, the high sales of popular goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real need of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, advertising has become a strong tool to create demand of popular goods in the society resulting in sky rocketing sales. I completely agree with the given statement and this essay will discuss the reasons of the same in detail. Advertisements are essential means to inform customers about the latest products and services launched or available in the market. It plays a vital role in any business as it helps the seller to each to its target audience via TV commercials, internet ads, newspaper adverts, etcetera. Few sellers emphasize so much on promotions that it creates hype in the market and customers gets really excited about the new product, and as soon as the product is launched it gets sold out irrespective of the real demand. For Instance, Apple creates a lot f hype with its advertising campaign before launch of any of its product and the ads are so effective that people end up buying it despite being an expensive item. Moreover, advertisers use celebrities to promote their product so that buyers can be manipulated with their decisions. There are so may celebrities who have endorsed multiple brands in spite of never using those brand’s products. To Exemplify, actor Shahrukh Khan is brand ambassador of Fair and Handsome fairness cream. He influence the youngsters to buy the product even if they do not need it. Likewise, there are several celebrities who collaborate with companies for promotional activities. Hence these endorsements manipulate the sales in some or the other way. To conclude, I believe that advertisements surely leads to increased sales of products which are not actually in demand but are promoted so aggressively that it creates the demand of those products.