Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Other, however, say this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are different views about what could be done to improve public health. Whereas some people claim that investments in sports facilities is an effective measure, others object to that opinion and argue that there are other approaches that would benefit the population. I tend to agree with the former opinion because, from my point of view, building sports premises is just one among a lot of other policies which should be implemented regarding this matter. On the one hand, some individuals believe that interest in sports is not universal and, therefore, additional facilities might simply attract the already fit ones, not those who need to improve their health. Instead, it is argued that higher tax penalties could be imposed on harmful products such as high-fat food, tobacco and alcohol as an excessive consumption of these contribute to poor health. On the other hand, it is widely known that the benefits of playing sports includes proper weight management, efficient heart functioning and lower cholesterol levels. Moreover, if there were more local sports centers, sedentary individuals of all ages would be more likely to make regular exercise a part of their lives rather than just craving into bad health habits. As far as I am concerned, teaching children at school how to eat more healthily would be much more effective as most of the health issues people have nowadays, such as hypertension and diabetes, is partially resulted from a bad diet. Additionally, the government should encourage citizens, especially the elderly, to have periodic check-ups in order to discover illnesses while they are still treatable. For example, when cancer is diagnosed in early stages, there are greater chances of a successful treatment. To sum up, in my view, focusing on sports facilities is too narrow an approach and might not have the desired outcomes. People should be encouraged to adopt a more preventative posture and healthier life habits.