As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

It is clear that job satisfaction is vital for people because they spend their adulthood at work. This essay will discuss what factors contribute to a sense of job satisfaction and provide options for the realistic expectation of job satisfaction for all workers. To begin with, the two factors which can contribute to job satisfaction for employees are well-paid and hours of work. Firstly, most of the people are looking for good opportunities in order to get a great position with a high paid salary to meet their needs. Secondly, some employees are not satisfied with long working hours such as working on weekends or overtime after office hours on weekdays as they want to spend their time with their family. For example, some people study as part-time students and they are unable to work after office hours or overtime. Thus, salary and working hours can contribute to job happiness for employees. However, the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers cannot be fulfilled. For instance, if employees want to get a high salary, they will surely need to take more responsibilities in work and work under pressure. In addition, employees may need to work overtime or on weekends according to the job requirement to get a great promotion or bonus. Therefore, the hope of job satisfaction will not be achieved in reality. To sum up, although it is true that job fulfilment is an important factor as people invest their adult life by working, the hope of workers for job enjoyment may not be perfect in truth.