Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages?

It is argued by some educators that kids should be taught foreign language from primary level rather than a later stage. This essay is of the opinion that merits of this practise are worthy enough to neglect the drawbacks and the reasons will be elucidated further with examples. Undoubtedly there is a myriad of perks for teaching a foreign language to young school children early on. Firstly, by starting at an early age while their brains are like a blank canvas, it may be easier to absorb the vocabulary and grammar compared to starting at a later time. Thus, due to growing up with a familiarity with it, they can gradually build up their proficiency as they grow just like their primary language. A good example would be the Singapore education system where kids are brought up being interacted by both Mandarin and English, and as a result, the Singaporeans are fluent in both languages. Secondly, they can easily use the foreign language interchangeably with their mother tongue which is beneficial if they opt to study abroad at a later time in life. In addition, international corporates favour candidates with foreign language skills. Therefore, it is beneficial for individuals to develop since primary stage of education for a profound proficiency. On the contrary, there is a downside of this practise as well. For one, young students will have various subjects to focus on. To supplement, primary skills such as literacy of native language, numeric and logic should be prioritised, hence, adding another syllabus would be an overload for them. For instance, according to research by Victoria University, children younger than the age of 7 who were taught more than 3 subjects at school shows a higher level of distress. To conclude, in spite of the noteworthy drawback which is the overpressure of lessons it is minimal compared to the gains. There are more robust arguments for advantages since it is easier for children to start early which guarantees mastery of the language gradually, and advantageous if they decide to pursue further education at a foreign country.