Today different types of robots are being developed which can serve as companions and workers to help at work and at home. Is this a positive or negative development?

Robots are definitely one of the greatest technological innovations of this world. They are now being used massively at work as well as for domestic purposes. While robots are largely beneficial in saving time and automating tasks, they have some drawbacks too. To begin with, they are a good substitute in places where the intervention of humans is dangerous and sometimes impossible. To exemplify, these days robots are widely used in the construction and automobile industry to lift heavy machines and also to assemble certain parts together. Apart from using robots in industries that involve high risk, they are other robots that are also being used in medical, agricultural and other industries. With robots, tasks can be completed easily in less time as well as with minimal errors, thus increasing productivity. In addition, humans usually get exhausted from doing boring and repetitive tasks; employing robots for such tasks is a sensible idea as the standard of work does not get slammed for the reason that the robots are devices that never-tiring. Last but not the least, in recent years, few individuals started using robots for domestic purposes as well. In some developed countries like America, few business magnets with extremely busy schedules are purchasing robots to finish most of their works thus replacing home helpers. While, there are a lot of advantages, there are some drawbacks too. Robots are very expensive and difficult to maintain. They are capable of doing only certain works that they are programmed for. It is not ideal to rely on them at all times as there are many risks associated with them especially with children around. Moreover, using robots can mean lesser employment opportunities. If most of the workforce is replaced by robots, the public will have to depend majorly only on industries related to robots to sustain themselves. There is also a higher risk of hackers invading the robotic software which could turn out to be deadly for the entire world. On top of that, over-dependence on machines can make people lazy and cause drastic effects on health. To conclude, though robots are a positive development in technology, too much dependency on them can cause detrimental impacts on an individual as well as society. Rather than using robots for every other work at home and in offices, their use must be restricted for specific purposes only where human intervention could be dangerous.