Childhood obesity has become a serious problem in recent year. What are the primary causes of this? What measures should be taken to reduce childhood obesity?

There is a growing number of overweight children in many countries around the world, including the United States, the United Kingdom and Australia. Over recent years, obesity in children has become one of the most serious global health problems. The following paragraphs will examine the main causes of childhood obesity and recommend some practical solutions. Obesity in children is caused by many factors. One of the main causes is genetic disorders passed down through generations. Therefore, children from these families tend to be overweight or obese (redundant). In addition to this, obesity in children can be influenced by bad family eating patterns or habits; these include bad food choices with high sugar and fat content instead of healthier options. Furthermore, children these days spend a lot of time watching TV or on their iPads which is causes a lack of physical activity. They end up spending more time sitting down in front of a device than engaging in physical movement or activity. To tackle this problem, children need to engage in certain activities in order to avoid being overweight or obese. Firstly, children should be offered healthy food options and helped to build heathy eating habits. Unhealthy foods; foods such as nuggets, ice-cream, or cake should only be consumed once in a while. Secondly, parents as the primary care givers should be good role models at the dining table; this would encourage children to imitate healthy eating patterns. Additionally, parent should limit screen time based on their ages of their children and set/ schedule physical activities either indoors or outdoors on a daily basis. In conclusion, childhood obesity is mainly caused by consumption of unhealthy foods. Parents should play their role in the fight against childhood obesity by providing their children nutritious food options and promoting healthy eating habits to solve this problem long term