In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasis that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In the world of business, companies use advertising as a method to promote the products they are selling, which include information regarding how it is new and innovative in some way or another. There are various reasons behind this attribute of advertisements, which in my opinion, brings more harm than good. This essay is aimed to underline some factors contributing to the highlighting of innovative aspect in advertisements and whether or not this development brings advantages. Corporations' decision to add innovative aspects of their products into advertisements pieces can be influenced by various factors. First and foremost, the customers are more likely to buy products that can attract their curiosity. By incorporating information that can create curiosity in purchasers, companies can expect better outcome from their advertisements; consequently, they will earn more profit. For illustration, for a kitchen tool ad, the ability to do multiple tasks can be considered as innovative and can attract people's attention. Moreover, highlighting the advantages the products can provide materialistically or emotionally can encourage sale figures. To given one example, ads that consist of saying that connected emotionally to purchasers have a better chance of selling the product to new customers. Conversely, the implication of new innovation in a product being promoted is not always beneficial to customers. Firstly, to start off, misinformation and fraud are commonly found in items that are promoted as new and creative. Due to the difficulty in developing of new products with actual unique ideas, many companies result to partially fake advertisement, blending fake information with factual information. For example, advertising companies can combine information such as price with intangible concept like easier to clean or decorative purpose. Moreover, although some may argue that displacement of new features in advertisements can encourage Research and Development, what is actually being promoted is large corporations' plagiarism of creative ideas from smaller companies that have less power on the legal side. In conclusion, the push for displacement of innovation in advertisements can be contributed to the search for more profit and create loyal customers. Personally, I believe that this development is actually harmful, as it encourages misinformation and plagiarism.