Some people believe that countries should produce food that population eats and import food as less as possible. To what extend do you agree or disagree.

The matter of food security has become a heated debate in recent years, which has led to a perspective that nations should try to grow their own food while importing less from foreign countries. Personally, I am partially with this view, but I believe that some reliant on other nations for food is not necessarily a bad aspect. This essay is aimed to further elaborate my opinion in details. There are various reasons why I partially agree the perspective. First and foremost, security for citizens, especially security of essential resources, is pivotal for a functioning society. Without these resources, riots and chaos would ensued throughout a nation, which empathizes on the necessity of maintaining a control over a country's food. For illustration, there have always been regulations regarding the quality of food that ensure the qualities of food products for their citizens. For America there is the FDA, and for European nations there is the EFSA. Moreover, being able to secure the food source can contribute significantly when a war breaks out. Conversely, the trading of food products is not necessarily detrimental to a nation's security. To put the concept differently, the importing of food products from other places can actually be beneficial to the global economy. While developed countries, who have moved from agriculture activities to industrial and tourism activities, can purchase food from developing nations that are still growing large amount of food, poorer regions can sell their excess food to other nations to have more money to allocate for public projects and the development of the infrastructure. Furthermore, trading of food can also be a way for cultures to intercept, creating new variations across the globe. In conclusion, while many people believe that food security should be the most prioritized target, which means increase in food production and less dependency on importing, I strongly believe that although security of food is essential, the importing and exporting of the product should not be reduced but rather regulated to maintain high-quality food for the population.