In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

It is true that video surveillance is becoming more and more popular in big cities in recent years. Although I understand that this tendency is claimed as a privacy infringement, I believe that the benefits do outweigh the drawbacks. There are 2 main reasons why people might disapprove of using surveillance camera in public places. The first reason is that these cameras invade people’s privacy, in the sense that the citizens are always being followed by the government or private security companies. Many people find this intrusive and have a feeling that recording all of their activities is a form of government control which curtails their individual freedom. The second argument against the proliferation of CCTV cameras is that these cameras are used as an alternative to police patrolling on the street. If this situation really happens, the cities ’ inhabitants might find it difficult to feel safe in public places. In spite of the drawbacks mentioned above, i believe that using camera surveillance in public places is a positive movements. The main purpose of this surveillance is to deter criminals and to prevent crime. For instance, hooking bags and robberies are less likely to happen in parts of cities where criminals know that they are being watched. In addition, whenever wrongdoing happens, the police can use those videos as proof/ evidences to catch and prosecute offenders. Therefore, in my personal opinion, video cameras offer valuable support to police officers, and they make cities safer for not only the residents living there but also the tourists. In conclusion, it seems to me that using CCTV cameras in big cities brings more benefits than complexes to those.