Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a universities should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

It is true that there is no student who does not want to get a job after they finish their graduation in the world, however, where a university’s role should provide graduates with the knowledge skills for a specific job or simply to educate students without a particular vocation in mind is a debatable issue. In my perspective, universities should help students to sharpen their skills for occupational purposes. In the following paragraph, I shall explain my point of view in detail. Firstly, some students enrol in certain courses at universities in order to gain knowledge in that subject. In today’s competitive world, it is crucial for people to be able to meet all employment requirements. For example, almost all employers used to demand to know almost everything for applicants who want to join their organizations. Therefore, finding a job without knowing in-depth is very hard to get the job. Additionally, certain abilities that can be obtained by studying that domain are required by the job mark. For example, persons who can learn practically if they are doing the same things every single day but will not understand the theoretical background to compare with an educated person. So, students can learn theoretical knowledge from universities and it can be applicable later on in their workplace. Thus, the university is vital and a gateway to give essential knowledge to adapt to the workforce. To sum up, the function of college is to support students for their workplace and provide knowledge to meet the requirement of the organization.