In many large cities, people waste hours of their time every day because of traffic congestion on the roads. What are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest.

Nowadays, many people in metropolitan cities have to spend hours on the roads due to traffic jams. In fact, there are several causes of traffic congestion. In this essay, I will examine the critical causes of this, and provide possible solutions to solve this. Firstly, poor public transportation is the major cause of traffic congestion. Since everyone has to commute to work every day, one will choose to travel by bus or train if cities have a good public transportation. For example, employees in Canberra, the capital city of Australia, prefer taking buses to driving cars, as buses are safe and punctual. Another cause is the lack of supporting bike lanes, which are an alternative vehicle for societies. For instance, some countries in Europe were building bike lanes in order to promote their communities to ride bikes. Thus, these two factors are the obvious causes of this problem. Nevertheless, the immediate solution is improving public transportations. Although, this action requires a lot of resources and is costly, it will definitely create a positive impact for societies. Moreover, another solution is promoting employees to work from home. As mostly traffic jams happen during the rush hours, therefore allowing an employee to work from anywhere will reduce the demand of transporting. In conclusion, the traffic congestions may be the result of low quality of transportations and infrastructure. Nonetheless, to resolve this problem, two vital solutions should take into account. It includes developing public transportations and supporting workers to work from home.