Some people believe that there should be a gap year after finishing high school (secondary school) and before starting university. To what extend you agree or disagree?

It is thought by some people that a year long break is necessary on completing the high school and prior to the beginning of university life. I strongly agree that there should be a gap so that the kids could relax a little, however, it need mot be as long as one year. On completion of high school, it would be better if students could get a break as some students work very hard during their time in high school to secure a position is reputed universities. For some of the secondary educational exams are very competitive and this put kids under a lot of pressure, a longer vacation would give them enough time to relax and enjoy various recreational activities. IN addition to that, some students would prefer working part-time jobs in order to get a hands on experience in the filed they have opted for as well as to save some money for their university life. A proper gap would also ensure them enough time to plan and prepare for their next level of life. Although, a gap is necessary, one year would be too long for a break. Kids would find it difficult to go back into their routine life of studies. They might feel lazy to start studying again after a period of relaxation. For instance, it is very difficult to get children to study even after a short summer break. Moreover, longer the gap, greater would be the gap in the concepts they studied in high school. It might get difficult for students to recollect what they studied in school. So a gap of 6-7 months would ba appropriate before starting the next level of education. In conclusion, a vacation is necessary after the secondary level education. Yet that does not mean it has to be as long as 1 year, it could be shortened for few months because it will be difficult for kids to cope with the tertiary education level.