Populations in developing nations are rapidly growing, people now believe that we should turn to GM crops to increase the production of food grains. Discuss the Advantages and Disadvantages of this approach.

Population explosion in developing countries made people to affirm that cultivation of genetically altered crops will help to meet the growing demand of food. This essay will firstly look at the merits of this idea and later about demerits of the same. For starters, GM crops have been modifed to express a gene that will overcome the deficiencies of traditional crops like resistance against pests, effective utility of the resources, lesser duration and improved quality. For instance, BT cotton, a GM crop gained popularity among indian farmers for its reduced cultivation costs, increased yielding on a smaller piece of land thereby enhancing profit. Furthermore, it will be a boon to densely populated countries, where the limited resources that are available can be effectively utilised to maximise the food production at a shorter time interval and feed a larger population at an optimal cost. On the flip side, GM crops do have some pitfalls. Firstly, these crops can lead to health issues in human beings. For instance, various studies have documented higher incidence of allergic reactions to the people who consume GM crops compared to control groups. Secondly, this crops can have a negative impact on the biodiversity of ecosystem by exclusive growth of one species over others. To conclude, GM crops significantly minimise the usage of pesticides and insecticides and enhance the productivity inspite of limited resources thereby, helping to feed a larger scale of people. However, health issues and hazards to environment are a matter of debate. A comprehensive research is necessary to evaluate the adverse effects of GM crops thereby improving the outcome in the future.