In many large cities, people waste hours of their time every day because of traffic congestion on the roads. What are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Nowadays, many people in metropolitan cities have to spend hours on the roads due to traffic jams. This is a severe problem because it will increase the level of stress. In this essay, I will examine the critical causes of this and provide two possible solutions. The most important cause of traffic problems in large cities is a lack of public transport. With few alternatives, many people commute by private car since it is quicker and more convenient. As a result, traffic jams occur, particularly on the main roads, which are popular routes. Another critical factor is the same fixed working hour across the city. As most workers have to start and finish working at the same time, mostly traffic jams happen during the rush hours. Fortunately, however, there are two promising solutions to this problem. Firstly, the immediate solution is improving public transportations and infrastructure. Although this action requires many resources and is costly, it will create a positive impact on societies. For instance, some countries in Europe were building bike lanes to encourage their communities to ride bikes. Consequently, it reduces the number of cars on the roads. Secondly, another solution is that the city government should introduce different working hours and encourage employees to work from home. As mostly traffic jams happen during the rush hours, allowing employees to have a flexible working time or work from anywhere will reduce the demand of transporting. In conclusion, the traffic congestions may be the result of the low quality of transportations and infrastructure. Nonetheless, to resolve this problem, two robust solutions should be considered, including developing public transports and supporting workers to work from home.