Apartment buildings are the preferred living space for many people. But many individuals prefer living in a house. Which do you prefer? Explain your thoughts using examples.”

A lot of people prefer to live in apartments for many different reasons, however, many families choose to live in a house. For me, I personally prefer living in an apartment for two main reasons; they are more affordable and apartment living can help strengthen the family’s relationship/ bond. In this essay, I will elaborate on my reasons. To begin with, house prices are normally much higher than apartments and they are more expensive to maintain. Taiwan is a densely populated country and the average person’s income is not very high. For this reason, it is not affordable for many people to buy or maintain a private house. In my situation, My apartment is spacious, affordable, well-located and the building has many communal facilities included in the price, such as a gym, a swimming pool, a meeting room, and a movie theater to name a few. Furthermore, living in an apartment can help to improve a family’s bond. Living in a flat gives people the opportunity to see each other more often and spend more time together. In contrast, living in a house, family members have more space which can create distance and sometimes weaken relationships as members may choose to spend their time in their rooms or on a different floor to the others. I remember when I was a child, my brother and I spent our time playing together upstairs while our parents spent their time downstairs watching television. This created a distance between us as our free time activities were more individual and not collective. Nowadays, I live in an apartment with my family and we are much closer and share our activities. In conclusion, although many people prefer living in a house, I feel that there are many more benefits to living in an apartment namely the affordability, the facilities and the shared activities with family.