Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city center with apartment buildings for commuters. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

To reduce the time traveling back and forth to work, some believe that replacing parks and gardens with apartment building is the best solution. This essay completely disagrees with this and will offer that the improvement of public transportation is more preferable. Replacing parks and gardens with apartment buildings is detrimental to cities. This is because if they are removed, their benefits would disappear. First, these two areas protect the urban environment by regulating the temperature, absorbing carbon dioxide and emitting oxygen. In addition, they provide space and exercise facilities for activities of fitness, entertainment and communication. On the other hand, there would be a dramatical growth in the number of private cars and in the amount of waste gas in the wake of the increasing population. When the problems combined together, environmental issues and traffic congestion would be worsen. For example, in Beijing, a city known for its traffic jam, it can take hours for drivers to cover 5 kilometers during rush hours. Therefore, the replacement is not the best way and it causes problems. In my opinion, a better answer is to improve public transportation. On of the most cared aspects for commuters is whether their residency has easy access to public transports. There are numerous feasible ways for the development. One is to add more types, such as bus, subway, BRT and trolleybus. Another is more routes, increasing the coverage. This encourages commuters to take public vehicles instead of private automobiles. As a result, the waste gas produced would decrease and the traffic pressure would be relieved. For instance, after the existence of Xiamen metro Line 3, a considerable number of people choose it rather than driving through the Xiang'an tunnel to work. Surprisingly, the time spent in the tunnel declines from about 1 hour to nearly 20 minutes. This reduces the commute duration for both drivers and people who take the subway. In conclusion, replacing parks and gardens with apartment buildings worsens certain urban problems so it is not the best way while the improvement of public transportation is preferable to reduce the commute time.