A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety. Therefore some people think that the government should increase spending on defense but spend less on social benefits. To what extent do you agree?

The safety and well-being of citizens of a country are the primary objectives of any government. However, this raises some debate as to whether the administration should increase funding for defence, whilst dispensing less on social benefits or vice versa. I feel that bought aspects need equal attention from the ministry. I will substantiate my reasoning in this essay. When we speak about the defence of a country's natives, we refer to both international shielding and domestic safeguarding. Crime is on the rise in many nations, and it’s the respective ministry’s responsibility to increase the finance for the policing of streets. This financing is mainly in connection with providing modernized technology which will help curtail any criminal activity. The authority also has an obligation to shield its self from neighbouring countries. This can be seen by the investing of billions of dollars in military equipment from western countries. For example, India recently purchased fighter jets from France to add to its increasingly older fleet. On the other hand, it is also important that the leadership backs its own non-combatants. This means they should spend on benefits like education and health care. Poverty is also a real problem in much of the developing world. It is because of this destitution, that many civilians are not able to get the basic schooling required, along with minimal medical treatment. If the regime does not sponsor these sectors, this will give rise to a growing amount of unemployment in the country, which will in turn affect the economy of the country. In conclusion, I feel that both defence and economic well-being are important, and require the management’s utmost concern.