In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, advertisements have advanced dramatically. Businesses try to advertise themselves that their products are new and different in some ways. This essay will answer why this development in advertising has become more and more popular; and whether this trend is a positive or negative development in the advertising industry. To embark on, these days, humanity is in an era where capitalism is on the rise. There are millions of new products occurring in the market every single day. Accordingly, as days go by, the market has become a more competitive place than it was. Hence, business owners have to come up with products that have never been made before in order to compete with others in the market. Take the production of the iPhone 14 for example, Apple just locates the iPhone camera in different places than it was in the iPhone 13 and advertise it as the “new” iPhone. In other words, even if the product itself is quite the same, the advertising team has to portray that it is new in some way; and the reason why the businesses are doing this kind of advertisement is that they are obligated to respond to the competitiveness of the market. Nevertheless, it is my view that this development benefits the advertising business. I personally think that the more conventional a product is, the more challenge the advertising team has to face. Eventually, challenges make everything better, including the world of advertising. Moreover, to advertise that the product is somehow new gives more choices and thrill to the consumer. For instance, imagine a world where Apple stops introducing a new iPhone every year, it would be dull and boring. To conclude, this trend of advertising has occurred due to the market ’s competitiveness; yet I believe that this development of advertising is a positive development as it gives the consumer more options to pick products which they prefer. In addition, it is also my belief that the trend will still grow in the future.