Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Is it a positive or negative development?

Globalization contributes to the spread of several types of goods around the globe, and as a result, all nations have looked like each other. In long term, I believe this situation has more negative impacts than positive ones and I will explain the reasons. Admittedly, there are some benefits to finding international products in the local market. First of all, immigrants who are homesick about their food could easily find it on the shelves of the supermarket and feel closer to their hometown and family. Secondly, some overweight people who might have issues with suits in the regional clothes will have better options in the international section. These examples are good, however the logistic behind the products are extremely harmful to the environment. Nowadays, people are consuming more products than the environment can support and this is the main negative impact of buying so much outside of their country. The fashion industry, for example, dictates that we need to buy new clothes every season, and it is causing unnecessary consumerism around the world. Buying more clothes is creating more environmental issues, such as logistics and transportation. Another problem with buying foreign products is the local commerce. Sometimes these products come from developing countries, which slavery work is quite common and they can sell those products at the cheapest price in the world. Therefore, this situation difficult the prosperity of the economy and really contribute to increasing poverty. To conclude, all nations are looking the same because people want to shop for goods from other places even though this is unsustainable in the long run. Therefore the negative impacts must be considered when someone buys international things because they have caused more issues to our lives for just following a fashion trend. Creating a strong local economy and minimizing the environmental impact should be how countries have to look forward.