Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages.

Nowadays, social media is prevalent among individuals around the globe to follow the latest trends and news. A chunk of individuals of opines that sharing personal information on these platforms have hazardous effects whilst others are sceptical about it. I; however, believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages and I will discuss them in my upcoming paragraphs. To begin with, social media websites made facilitate staying in touch with friends and family members. For instance,before few decades, people have to either send a letter or call their loved ones, this is not only time-consuming but also expensive. Hence, the advent of social media made commutation between people convenient and manage the easy flow of information in just seconds over long distances. Moreover, with the help of social media individuals can able to expand their business due to access to a wider range of audiences. For instance, they promote their products online on their social accounts without any extra cost. Therefore,it will help their business to grow and increase profit margins. Hence, individuals have new greater opportunities available as compare to the Past. On the other hand, most individuals share their sensitive information on their social media accounts. Therefore, these details could be used by the culprits and thieves to harm them. For instance, while travelling many folks share their location this put them in vulnerable situations as burglars can track them and rob their items. Moreover, hackers can use this private information to hack into their computers and can steal their personal documents. Hence, there are many preventative measures to take while using these platforms. To conclude, I believe that social media helps friends and family to remain in touch without their geopolitical location and also create career opportunities. However, individuals need to be aware while sharing any private details as it can be used against them.