Over the last few decades, the media has promoted the image of young thin women as being ideal. What problems has this caused? What solutions can you suggest to this issue?

Body image is something that every child is worried about, and now with the advancement of technology women more so than men are suffering the stigma related to this issue. The role the media has played in this matter, is more of a destructive one, because they mainly promote the idea of a beautiful woman, as one who is very thin. Unfortunately, they do not talk about the problems that this can create. Seeing such scenes, young girls resort to anorexia, as a way of beautifying themselves. However, this only leads to severe health-related issues, and in worst cases can result in death. In the last couple of years, the sudden rise in Tik Tok videos being uploaded has only added fuel to an already raging fire. For example, it is understood that in America today at least 60% of young girls are being bullied either in school or online because of their appearance. The solution for this can only be through family support, a there does not seem to be any respite from the media in this matter. Parents must have an open and honest relationship with their children, one in which the children can tell them about any problem. Parents, for their part, must take the time to explain to their children the difference between things such as dieting and anorexia, and the importance of health and well-being rather than body image. Because at the end of the day, you are only as happy as you feel. Governments can also play their part, and recognise body shaming as a serious problem amongst young girls, and thereby encourage different celebrities to engage the youth on this topic. They can also hold beauty pageants for plus-sized women, as a way of showing that beauty is not about how thin a person is, and in fact, beauty is in the eye of the beholder. To conclude, the best way to tackle this problem is head-on, with parents and children being open with eachother. With the introduction of technology and the internet, we need to understand that children are learning things at a faster rate, and they are made available to so much new information.