The movement of people from villages to cities for work can cause serious problems in both places. The movement of people from villages to cities for work can cause serious problems in both places. What are the serious problems associated with this? What measures can be taken to solve these problems?

These days, more and more people are moving to cities in search of better work and living conditions. This trend can be responsible for urban overpopulation and lack of workforce in the countryside, and there are some actions that can be taken to address these issues. To begin with, rural-urban migration has some negative implications for cities. One obvious problem that might arise from increasingly more people moving out of villages is overpopulation in cities. This trend has been in steady increase since the beginning of industrialization and has shown no signs of decline. If there are more people in cities than they can hold, the resulting overcrowding can be a breeding ground for other major problems in the medium and long run such as greater pressure on city resources and infrastructure. One practical solution to this problem is urban sprawl. Most cities today choose this strategy as their prime approach to deal with the problem simply because it works. People moving to cities need accommodation and space to work, so it makes sense when city authorities spend more on expanding their territories. One should also acknowledge the effects rural migration has on villages. The main problem stemming from this phenomenon for rural dwellers would be lack of workforce. Once a significant proportion of villagers, especially young ones, abandon their hometowns to work in cities, there will be few people left to do farm work like raising crop and livestock. Without these people to produce our food, further problems are sure to emerge in the supply chain. To counteract the effects of this problem, rural inhabitants should be incentivized to stay by offering them decent jobs with competitive pay. Not only would this measure go a long way to slowing down migration to cities, but also would attract people from cities to come and work in the countryside. In conclusion, while the major issues resulting from rural migration are urban overpopulation and worker shortage in rural areas, city expansion and creation of well-paid jobs in villages can be put forward as possible solutions. Not taking into account the time spent on explaining problem, rural inhabitants should be incentivized to stay by offering them decent jobs with competitive pay. Not only would this measure go a long way to slowing down migration to cities, but also would attract people from cities to come and work in the countryside. In conclusion, while the major issues resulting from rural migration are urban overpopulation and worker shortage in rural areas, city expansion and creation of well-paid jobs in villages can be put forward as possible solutions.