Some people think that the best way to reduce time spent in travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city centre with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In developing countries, especially enormous cities, some suppose that governments should re-establish public places for offices or buildings to improve congestion problems and save commuting time while others have another view. This essay will analyze the benefits and drawbacks of this considered issue before drawing a conclusion. It is undeniable that replacing open-door areas such as parks or gardens in metropolitan is beneficial for the central residents. Firstly, the foremost reason could be named is time-saving. Obviously, employees usually waste at least two or three hours a day travelling to work instead of spending those valuable time on other creative activities such as learning a new language, drawing or doing exercise. Secondly, no transporting to workplace definitely helps protect our friendly habitat. Driving short distances not only prevents a numerous amount of gas emissions released into the atmosphere by personal vehicles but also saves a significant transportation expense. Additionally, the government is not necessary to pay millions of dollars for gas treatment processes. On the other hand, although the recreational space removal plan has its economical advantages, this also affects people’s healthy lifestyles and habitats. Without parks and gardens, stressful staff or overwhelmed students cannot enjoy such active outdoor exercise and games with their friends and children. As a result, they find it hard to balance their overloaded lives and can cause some chronic diseases such as blood pressure or heart diseases. Accordingly, this refurbishment surely harms our environment in various aspects. To sum up, I believe that there is a wide range of efficient methods to deal with traffic congestion by building up a better road construction system or reducing carbon dioxide by using eco-friendly electric vehicles as well as public buses as replacing green parks and gardens with skyscrapers still contains both positive and harmful influences.