Some countries are considering imposing curfews in which teenagers will not be allowed outdoors at night unless they are accompanied by an adult. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this policy?

Some governments are planning specific legislation to restrict adolescents in the public at night unless being accompanied by an adult. Owing to two significant advantages it can bring, I think it is a wise idea. If adopted, the first advantage of this policy is that it can slow down the pace of growth of crime among the youngsters. To be precise, most crimes in which teenagers are involved, such as street-fighting, drug abuse, bullying and assaulting girls happen at night. This happens when the situations are favourable for them. For example, there would be lax security during events which are held at night like DJ parties and the aggression levels of the adolescent participants are generally high during these hours. Another positive side of this move is that it can reduce the number of teenage trouble-makers. To be clearer, there would be elderly supervision for one to three teenagers and these elders would be most closely related to the group members. Under their supervision, these adolescents are less likely to misbehave. When the number of teenagers are less, and situations to misbehave are limited, one can expect a very positive result. I admit that this move questions the fundamental freedom of an individual. However, when we consider their vulnerability to crime at this stage, if they are outdoors at night, they should be strictly supervised. This could be better done by their guardians rather than by the security forces. To conclude, despite criticisms regarding individual freedom, I believe, provided that this the policy is implemented, that would be a landmark in reducing the crime rate among adolescents.