You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words

Certain individuals are of the belief that majority of time in school should be spent in learning crucial subjects in order to have a successful profession in future. The key reason attributed to the fact is that the current educational system is purely based on grades. On the other hand, some proportion of the society believes that schools should focus on teaching the scientific aspects of food and their preparation methods as part of their curriculum because it contributes to maintaining a healthy society. Therefore, I am of the view that schools should include scientific aspects of different food as part of their Syllabus. Learning important modules is essential for leading a successful life when they enter the community. At present, the educational system is solely focused on good results and they need to obtain good standards in important subjects such as Mathematics, Science, etc., in order to gain admission to renowned universities after completing secondary education. For example, famous universities in the world such as MIT, Cambridge, etc., are expanding more opportunities for school-leavers who have finished their secondary education either from mathematics or science streams. As a result, students have no option but to study in those streams and obtain good grades. However, the writer does not agree with this view because learning food technology will help junior to live a healthy life in future. On the contrary, gaining knowledge about nutritional aspects of food contributes to a healthy society. This is due to the fact that people can apply this knowledge to carefully select and cook the food they eat, which enhances physical and mental well-being. Furthermore, students with cooking knowledge and skills can follow courses such as hospitality management that has a promising future. For instance, researchers found that children in schools that taught the nutritional aspects of food are more healthy and better having academic performance than their counterparts in other schools where no such syllabus was introduced. As a result, it will help those children to find a good career and live a healthy life. To conclude, the current educational system purely focuses on grades that children need to obtain good grades in mainstream subjects in order to gain admission to top-ranked universities. Therefore, schools should put more weight on mainstream subjects than other subjects. On the other hand, gaining knowledge about food technology will help children to live a healthy life and assuring promising careers when they enter society. In my opinion, learning about nutritional aspects of food and preparation methods are important for school children to live a healthy life in the future.