Nowadays parents put too much pressure on their children to succeed. What is the reason for doing this? Is this a negative or positive development?

In this day and age, the competition in the job market is extremely high, and it is only natural for parents to want to see their children live good and comfortable lives. A major part of achieving such a dream is being able to secure a well-paying job. However, in doing so, children are forced to soak in a lot of pressure from an early age from both parents and schools which can have negative effects on them. The positive aspect of the parents providing the pressure is that the children can be more focused and concentrate on their studies. The fact that their career options are provided by their parents, helps them to understand what is required of them, and accordingly, they will fall in the pattern required. For example, in Trivandrum, many children in schools have their career paths decided for them by their parents. Their choices are either engineering or becoming a doctor. The main reason for this is because these are the fields that are the most likely to help land them a well-paying job. The negative of this type of pressure is that the children will not be able to make their decisions. There is also a possibility that by the time the children reach college they will burn out at a young age because the constant pressure will at one point make them snap. They will also feel disconnected from their parents because as their parents made all the selections for them, the children will feel that if they fail or cannot make it, their parents will be disappointed. In conclusion, this pressure provided by the parents will have more negative developments on the children, because the child will not be able to experience life. They will not be able to search out what interests them.