Each year, the crime rate increases, what are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?

The number of people living in the world, without doubt, is increasing and this results in many problems. One of the major problems is an increase in criminal activities. This essay will first discuss the main reasons behind this issue and then suggest some viable suggestions that can halt this growth. Inıtially, the main reason behind the growth in crime is the lack of employment opportunities. What I am trying to say is that the more people become unemployed, the more they tend to involve in illegal activities to meet their basic needs. Secondly, the number of people who can not access proper education is fairly high which is another main reason for the increase in ciminal activities. The people with a lack of decent education are likely to involve in criminal activities. To illustrate, according to a recent research conducted by TUBITAK- Science and Technology Instıtution of Turkey- the majority of crimes which is about 80% is commited by people with no high school diploma. Governments can cease this rise mainly in two ways. Firstly, creating new job opportunities can help people to obtain a decent job and earning their livelihood. Those who can meet their basic needs are unlikely to involve in any criminal activities. Another feasible solution would be investment in education. Authorities need to rise the standards of not only schools but also teachers. A better education may enhance individuals' perspectives in their lives. All in all, unemployment and poor education are two major reasons for the increase of criminal activities. Once authorities can improve the empoyment and education opportunities, people will avoid participating in illegal activities.