Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

One of the highly controversial issues today is related to how humans utilize energy resources. Over the years, solar energy increasing becomes a prominent source of energy among the nations across the globe. From my perspective, there are reasons behind this trend, as well as the presence of merits and drawbacks which will be elaborated further in this essay. I opine that there are two reasons why solar power is becoming a popular option. To begin with, I believe that there are people concerned in developing a sustainable world. This is because there is a movement for people to help conserve the environment and with that in mind, utilizing solar energy as an efficient alternative energy source is one of the plausible solutions some people do to aid in the agenda. In addition, it may be effective in cutting monthly expenses in a household. Thanks to technological developments, such system capable of yielding electrical energy that is sufficient to cover house needs, at a lower cost. Moreover, sunlight energy has some merits. Possibly, it may lead to a decrease in number of harmful fuel usage, such as fossil fuels and nuclear power. If we change to use using more environmentally-friendly resources alternatives, it may yield favorable results. Furthermore, people can spend the extra money for other things instead. On the other hand, one obvious drawback is that this option is not practicable in countries with little or weak sunlight. Another is that cost of solar harnessing system installation could be prohibitively expensive for some low or average-income households. Concludingly, I believe that planet conservation and cost reduction are two causes why solar energy becomes a viable choice despite the aforementioned possible disadvantages.