The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

It is true that the obesity problem among youths has become increasingly serious in recent years. There are many factors behind that and it leads to many problems as well. Several reasons can be founded on the overweight issue. Firstly, too much exposure to junk food makes teenagers easily get fat. Fat and calories contained in unhealthy food are usually much more than the normal standard, resulting in a quick rise in weight. Secondly, children nowadays spend plenty of time finishing their school work, leaving only a little time for sports. For example, when I was a student, my school days were filled with paperwork and literary exams, all of which should be done by sitting in front of the desk for quite a long time day after day, and this behaviour could strongly make a contribution to adding weight. As more and more adolescents are suffering from the overweight dilemma, a lot of effects can be gradually seen on this trend. The increase in weight may lead to many diseases, especially heart illnesses, which may not only lead to unhealthy physical condition, but also be a threat to one's life. What's more, a student who is exceedingly fat may be played jokes on or laughed at by other friends. This does harm to mental health and increases more students' disputes. In addition, the overweight complication may disturb a nation's development as fat young men are definitely not good choices for the army. In conclusion, as many aspects make the obesity obstacle much more serious, the problems behind can also be seen more clearly.