Studies show that crime rates are lower among those with educational degrees. Therefore, the best way to reduce the crime rate is to educate criminals while they are still in prison. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Undoubtedly, lack of education and employment opportunities are two primary reasons behind the increasing alarming rates of crimes. A chunk of individuals opines that educating criminals will discourage them from committing any crime whilst others are sceptical about it. I; however, agree with this notion and will discuss it in the forthcoming paragraphs. To begin with, as they say, that nobody is born a criminal. To exclude, many individuals are victims of their circumstances as they have a lack of financial support so they can unable to get an education. Therefore, this results in lesser employment opportunities. Eventually, many of them turn into gangsters or thieves. In contrast, such criminals tendencies are less in those who are educated. Moreover, educating criminals will not erase your shady past. However, it will increase the chances of getting employment once they get released. For instance, one of the biggest problems is that ex-prisoners face is a lack of rehabilitation opportunities. Society prefers to keep them at arm's length, and as such, they have fewer opportunities for making living once they are released from prison. Unfortunately, this increases their chance of getting into crimes again. Education may change the situation for good. If prisoners receive the opportunity to learn and acquire vocational or academic degrees from prison they are more likely to find a job upon their release as a result when they have a secure job and a means of living, most people will not want to get into crime again. To conclude, education improves a person's employability. Just because someone is in prison doesn’t mean that they cannot learn or acquire degrees. In fact, educating prisoners is one of the best things we can do for their rehabilitation.