As languages such as English, Spanish and Mandarin become more widely spoken, there is a fear that many minority languages may die out. Some countries have taken steps to protect minority languages. What is your view of this practice?

There is no doubt that these days keeping minority languages, for example, Arabic from fading has a great reason for concern all over the world. The question is, is it right to establish measures to preserve these languages from dying? In this essay, I am going to draw my own point of view regarding this protection. A country’s language has been always defining its identity. The main reason given to support this claim is that allowing a person to speak its unique language will keep diversity among people. To illustrate, both the fascination and curiosity that a language can bring will directly attract many language learners to study it. In other words, when language -lovers travel to explore and learn a specific language, this language -speaking country will be famous and welcome more learners, which in turn improves the economy in general. Thus, this economic growth is vital not only for the citizens but also to the language itself. However, speaking a minor language is a weak step to follow globalization. For two main factors, first and foremost, language is the main type of communication between countries. In other words, speaking a major language such as English is essential to prevent misunderstanding that can happen by sticking to someone's language. Secondly, minority languages can negatively impact a country’s development. Due to the fact that evolving requires engaging with big countries such as the USA and China. Consequently, this approach will result in a country’s flourishing. Hence, minority languages should not be encouraged in order to protect a position among developed nations. In conclusion, although speaking a world language is demanding for globalization, it has its drawback effects. Therefore, I believe that using our own language is outweigh the benefit of speaking the world language.