Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many students today might believe that studying a boring subject like History is not worth the time spent and would rather study up-to-date subjects like Science and Technology. In my opinion, students should value History as an important subject so as to appreciate lessons from the past while also spending time on subjects like Science and Technology which are absolutely essential in every aspect of our lives. On the one hand, in today’s world having a strong historical background is considered as a nation’s identity and is highly praised around the world. By scrutinizing the past, we will be able to raise our awareness of famous figures and ancient civilizations; for example, Iranians have always been well-known for their ancient ‘Persian Empire’ and its unique human rights papyrus. Furthermore, studying history gives us the chance to take lessons from nations’ destinies in the past and take our findings into consideration when we are making decisions to shape our future; this can be worthless when it comes to large-scale decisions about issues like economics or culture. On the other hand, Science and Technology are two of the most important and practical subjects. Nowadays our lives are being influenced by scientific findings and technological achievements in every single way, meaning that one needs to raise their technological and scientific literacy if they want to survive in today’s competitive world. For instance, having the knowledge of manipulating computers is not only a positive factor that facilitates your life but is also the minimum requirement to handle relatively everything: from education and shopping to calling your loved ones over the Internet. This means that by expanding your computer literacy, you are equipped with an efficient tool which in turn, enables you to make progress in your desired field. To summarize, both ‘History’ and ‘Science and Technology’ are of high importance which means that nations need their students to be aware of their historical identity while, at the same time, the future generations should be knowledgeable about essential scientific and technological topics. I believe, both these courses are necessary to train an astute and capable generation of students.