Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation.Why might this be the case?What could be the disadvantaged of being self-employed?

In recent times,there has been an increasing trend of individuals leaving high paying jobs at the corporate for freelancing and being self-employed. This could be a result of the rising levels of stress among people.The fact that people would rather be self-employed,which puts them at a disadvantage as it takes away their guaranteed monthly income and everything solely depends on them, begs for further research on why this is happening. Companies usually work for 6 days a week and the employees are forced to work 9-5 jobs with meagre pay.All of their hard work goes into increasing the profits of the company itself and does not give the employees any returns. This could be one reason people are leaving such organisations even if it means no constant fixed revenue for them.Individuals are increasingly giving more importance to their mental health and self-esteem which is a good thing.They know their worth, so they would rather start something on their own and strive for it instead of bending over their backs for someone else's company.Though with everything said,the disadvantages of being self-employed are something that should not be ignored too. Firstly,there is no fixed pay and people receive money when they get a job from a client. For example,a freelancing architect would only be paid when she finds a client.She could also suffer for long periods with no pay if she has no clients.Though,if she worked at a firm she would constantly receive work from the office and be paid monthly. Secondly,he or she is wholly responsible for her work and she will not receive help,unlike an office setting where there are many interns and architects working on the same project. This could consequently increase her stress levels and leave her unhappy and unsatisfied with her job. In conclusion, I would like to say that,both types have their own pros and cons and it is important for the particular individual to figure out what works for him or her and find a way to go about it.