In many countries women no longer feel the need to get married. Some people believe that this is because women are able to earn their own income and therefore do not require the financial security that marriage can bring.To what extent do you agree?

Financial security is something that every individual craves. The ability to decide their fate. This is the case for both men and women. However, some people believe this is a selfish notion on the part of women, whilst others believe that it is only right for them to feel this way. I agree, with the notion of women choosing not to marry and will substantiate my reasons in the course of this essay. For starters, women choose not to marry for the sake of their careers. They feel that if they do, they will be pegged back, not only by personal commitments but also by colleagues at work and managers who will at the time prevent them from promotions as the belief is that the women will eventually leave to take care of the children. The financial security that women obtain from working, allows them to live their life on their terms, and the fact of the matter is why shouldn't they. For example, my friend in Bangalore who is 36 years old, is currently being bombarded by her friends, parents, and relatives to get married, because she is past the age where she will be able to get good options for husbands. On the other hand, she works as a manager of a start-up company and is doing very well for herself. Alternately, the problem of women not choosing to get married, means there is skewness in the ratio of men as compared to women who wish to get married. This will result in many men moving to other locations to get married, or resulting in them also not tying the knot. Furthermore, the more women choose not to marry, it will cause a dent in the birth rates of a city, and slowly the reduction in the population. Once this happens, many sectors will have to rely on migrant workers for fulfilling the job market requirements. In conclusion, no man can live as an island, and therefore the requirement for human companionship is inevitable. The right of a woman to be unmarried is their fundamental right, however, I feel this is a decision that they need to think about, because later in life they will not have anyone to take care of them.