In the request for development, many countries allow their natural environment to be affected. Such a strategy is well worthwhile, an economic development should always be placed ahead of the environment. Argue both sides, and give your opinion.

Countries nowadays are giving more priority for development than conservation of their environment. This trend is especially seen in developing nations, where forests are cleared in huge areas for building infrastructure. Although some people may argue that such a strategy where economic development is placed ahead of the environment is worthwhile, I would beg to differ. Firstly, we should understand that to rebuild the flora and fauna native to a country would take years, for instance, trees cut down in the Amazon forests would have taken 20 to 30 years to grow, so, repairing that loss is never an easy task. Secondly, when the ecosystem is disturbed, there will be consequences like climate change or even natural calamities. To illustrate, in 2019, in Kerala the buildings constructed by clearing trees were lost in landslides and floods during monsoon. When economic development is given more importance than nature, there will be huge economic losses in the long term due calamities or climate change. However, there should be focus on development as well, because once the country’s economy is prosperous, various projects like santuries sanctuaries and wildlife protection acts could be sanctioned, thus provide better protection for a nation’s flora and fauna. Likewise, when the country is developed, there will be better waste management programs, which can in turn bring down pollution and thereby protect the environment. In conclusion, some countries are placing economic development ahead of environmental protection. Although a better economy would result in policies to conserve the ecosystem, placing economic development alone at the forefront might not provide the desired results.In my opinion both economic developement and environmental conservation should go hand-in-hand, that is “sustainable developement ” should be the way forward.