Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed , rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why must this be the case What could be the disadvantages of being self employed

In recent times, the majority of individuals are working freelance rather than being an employee in a particular firm or institution. This treatise will give reasons for the hike in self-employment and also some of its drawbacks. Recently, it is an obvious fact that people prefer to be their own boss and the agenda behind this is due to the freedom that comes with working for oneself. Firstly, they are at liberty to make decisions and bring up ideas and they are not answerable to a master, this brings a feeling of self-satisfaction and actualisation. For instance, my cousin James who use to work for a delivery company and didn't really have time for relaxation because of his busy work schedule became fed up with Job and decided to open his this gave more him more time to travel on vacations. Secondly, one of the reasons is the fact that they make more income and make expenses at will, to illustrate, an article published by an American university in 2015 made reference that entrepreneurs are more likely to become millionaires than salary earners. Obviously, with its wide range of enticing merits freelance still has some drawbacks which can be very damaging during its onset. One of the crucial disadvantages is he or she is the sole risk bearer and has no backup. For example, a shop owner who was robbed and could not recover his property's would have to face the consequences alone however if they were to be an employee they have no business with the damages. In addition, another downside to this is the idea that the entity responsible for capital is used in setting up the firm and this could prove to be a major challenge for many in terms of raising such a huge amount of money. In conclusion, self-employment brings about liberty and convenience. however, the individuals involved should be prepared to bear the perils that come with it.