It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime can be attributed to violence in the media. Do you agree that this is the main cause of juvenile crime? What solutions can you offer to deal with this situation?

Nowadays there is an upward trend in the juvenile delinquency rate. Some people say this is because of the flourishing in the media industry which sometimes contains violent content, and such unhealthy contexts can influence immature children's thoughts. In my opinion, I totally agree with this idea and think that it is better to have parents ' accompanying when children are watching TV or using social media; furthermore, violent content on these media should be strictly restricted by the authority. To begin with, the media should take the greatest responsibility for juvenile crime because they spread inadequate information without categorizing their users. As a result, such bad information can easily be seen by children who are mentally immature and have less knowledge to recognize things' right and wrong. For example, according to the authority's research, in Taiwan up to 70 per cent of students in elementary schools will imitate public figures' ways of speaking and their behaviors, for just wanting to be like them. Consequently, some bad behaviours such as bullying or discriminating can happen in the school or on the internet. In order to deal these problems mentioned above, parents ' accompanying and strict censorship from the government will be important all the more. Firstly, parents have to spend some time watching TV or browsing websites with their children, taking this opportunity to assist them with developing the ability to tell right from wrong. Therefore, even thought an unhealthy behaviour or speaking has been exposed to the children, the harmful effect on them can be enormously minimized. In addition to this, comprehensive censorship from the government is able to effectively curb juvenile delinquency because this is the easiest and quickest way to thoroughly eradicate inadequate messages on all kinds of media. In conclusion, unhealthy content on the media should be blamed for encouraging children to commit crimes, and a proper education from parents and a stringent regulation introduced by the government can ease this problem.