People have different expectations for jobs. Some people prefer to do the same job for the same company whereas others prefer to change jobs frequently. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are some people who like to keep changing their jobs, whereas others prefer to continue with the same organisation. Not only this essay will discuss the merits and the demerits of both these approaches, but also it will answer why I feel that a hybrid approach is needed. First and foremost, there are benefits as well as drawbacks of continuing in the same job for longer. The most important benefit is becoming the master of systems and processes of the organisation. This helps in completing tasks seamlessly and also makes it easier to get recognition from bosses as employees become well versed with the job by doing the same task for a longer period of time. It, however, can result in monotonicity and also often results in getting lesser monetary compensation. For instance, even though my friend was high performing employee, he was getting an increment of 4% per year, but once he switched jobs he was offered a growth of 50%. Similarly, frequent job -hopping too has mixed outcomes. On the positive side, because employees get to work in different organisations their knowledge becomes wider and it helps them to get a well-rounded view of the sector. This is really helpful in the long run since senior roles require high industry knowledge. On the other hand, changing jobs time and again puts employees under tremendous pressure to keep performing because they have to prove themselves to new bosses. Hence, they are always on their toes. For instance, when I changed jobs frequently during the early part of my career, I was always required to put more effort than my colleagues as my superiors did not know me well. In my opinion, recognition of work and adequate compensation for work are the two major objectives of a job. In order to address both of these objectives, it becomes prudent to extract benefits from both approaches, as it is evident that none of these is perfect to go forward. To give an example, my father followed a mixed approach and became a director at the age of 35. To conclude, continuing in the same job results in getting well versed with a job but compensation becomes an issue. On the other side, changing jobs time and again helps in getting a wealth of knowledge and puts additional pressure on employees to keep performing. Thus, I believe that a hybrid approach can result in better growth of employees.