Some companies sponsor sport and sports stars as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this age, advertising plays a major role in many important sporting events, and it is common to see the billboards of sponsors and the athletes have the sponsors ' names written on their jerseys. However, this does its advantages and disadvantages, which we shall see in the course of this essay. First and foremost, we have to accept that without sponsors sporting events cannot exist. That is a given because without sponsors all the jerseys, equipment, and travel of sports personalities will be borne by the personalities themselves. In addition to this, the sponsors get to promote their products. For example, as Red Bull sponsors the football club, RB Leipzig, there has been a significant increase of around 63% in the consumption of the energy drink. Alternately, the flaw of sponsorship, is that they sometimes give the wrong message. Sports personalities have a huge impact on our lives, especially the younger generation as they wish to be just like them. So, if McDonalds for example, is the sponsor for the Portuguese national football team, it will send a message to youngsters that this is something that is endorsed by their favorite stars, and therefore it is something that should be accepted by them as well. In conclusion, although sponsorship could harm the sport and players in some aspects, people can not deny its great contributions. As long as there is some regulation on the sponsorship to minimize its disadvantages.