Nowadays it seems that almost all websites show online advertisements from other companies for products or services. Is this a good thing or a bad thing?

In recent days, many websites have cropped up due to increased internet accessibility and penetration to remote places. Because of this, many businesses are able to advertise their goods and services online. In my opinion, it is a good move as people and/or companies will be able to create jobs, promote journalism and increase government revenues. The level of unemployment in the country is quite high, so technology has enabled individuals to be creative and create jobs for themselves. One way for individuals with an IT background is creating websites and producing engaging content that attracts high volume of traffic to their sites. As a result, marketers are able to pay them to advertise their products. This way, they are able to generate income and, as well, employ other people, who, for example, write articles and make funny videos. Furthermore, it promotes and sustains activities of independent journalism. In most cases, independent journalists need money to buy modern day electronics, travel and pay contractors, too. So, they will be able to have a steady income to finance all these activities through advertisements. Tuko and Kahawa Tungu are some good examples here in Kenya. In addition to the above, the government is, too, able to increase revenues through income taxes. This money will fund infrastructure development and social services such as paying some allowances to older citizens. In conclusion, websites, however, have opened up a wide range of opportunities to people and commercial enterprises. While individuals are able to earn a living and create employment opportunities, commercial establishments, as well, increase their sales and profits.