The large extent of online learning is more effective than face-to-face learning in secondary school education during the COVID-19 pandemic

Online learning brings abundant study resources for their furthermore studies. Before the pandemic, students normally get study resources from textbooks or tutorial handouts. Secondary students seldom choose online resources as their first choice. During the class suspension of both secondary schools and tutorial classes, students have more choices to receive more study resources. Gherhes et al. (2021) states that students can get different study resources from the internet instead of school resources, such as online study platforms, educational videos and digital documents etc. Students can choose to have additional tutorial online lessons or review teacher’s recorded videos, they can flexibly plan their own study progress according to their study progresses, and it is easier for them to search resources online since more tutors are willing to pose teaching videos online under pandemic. Oye et al. (as cited in Gherhes et al.,2021) points out that senior students from secondary schools are willing to adapt new study methods, watching educational videos, having virtual and real-time lessons. It shows that secondary students are open-minded to adapt online teaching. Compared to online learning, face-to-face learning cannot provide abundant study resources for secondary school student. Face-to-face learning may provide direct instructions by teachers but students may not receive enough study materials compared to the diversify online learning, which may let students feel hard and inefficient to overcome their study difficulties without enough teaching support after face-to-face class. Online learning creates a great learning environment that suit students with different varieties of learning styles. CUHK (2020) states that more than 65% secondary students are willing to join online group activities, corporate with peers and brainstorm new ideas through communication. It shows that secondary students are desiring to study though online and try participating online presentations, discussion these types of diversify learning mode. Not only benefits students who enjoy communicating with others, online learning is also flexible for students who could be self-discipline. You & Kang (2014, as cited in Gilbert,2015) discover that students who enjoy self-learning responding online learning is flexible and let them can allocate more time on other learning tasks to improve study efficiency instead of the concepts they are familiar with. In an opposite way, the fixed class timetable from face-to-face learning may bring inefficiency to this type of students to adjust their revision time. Here is a worriedness that online learning may bring learning difficulties to students. Pelikan et al. (2021) reports that some Austrian secondary school students find that they are hard to pay attention to their studies and suffer different learning difficulties such as lack of self-discipline and motivation during online learning. Without the supervision from teachers and the peer pressure from the face-to-face learning, some students may find that it is hard to focus on academic performances and not be distracted from electronic devices. People may see the shifting of learning environment as a challenge for them or bringing study difficulties for them. However, challenge Change the form of the verb challenges show examples may also bring students a chance to develop their personal ability. Pelikan et al. (2021) states that some students with higher perceived competence adapt online learning quickly and find that self-learning and study by their own timetable can bring better study effectiveness than face-to-face learning. This result shows that online learning may be a trouble for students but a chance for them to think about how to utilize the flexible time to study and learn to be discipline on study. Face-to-face learning may let students ’ academic life be well-planned by a fixed timetable and no need to worry be lazy with teacher’s supervision. It may be great for secondary school students to prepare for their public exam but it also reduces the opportunity of students to build up a long term self-discipline ability for students with low self-control ability. To conclude, face-to-face learning provide a stable study environment for secondary students to continue their preparation of the public examination. However, secondary students are hard to stay at this comfort zone during the pandemic and need to shift and adapt online learning, trying to receive diversify study resources and teaching mode, thus adjust their timetable under online learning. We can see infinitive possibilities from this diversify learning environment and surely online learning is more effective than face-to-face learning in secondary school education during the COVID-19 pandemic.