Many people today find that the cost of attaining a university level education is extremely high for the students and their families. What are the causes for this situation, and how can governments, universities and the students themselves overcome the problem?

These days university education is highly expensive and has become a financial burden on most students as well as their families. Even though there are several reasons contributing to this issue, such as the preference of private educational institutes over public ones, appropriate measures can be taken to address this problem effectively. To begin with causes, one factor that has led to high fee structures is the bar set by private universities, it is assumed that the more expensive the course or program is the more well reputed it will be. This perception is ingrained in the mindsets of students by the “ for profit ” institutes. Another reason that people cannot afford a degree in a decent institute is the lack of economic stability. Most students today work to pay their fee and in an era where cost of living is so high, university education becomes an inconvenience. Hence students end up acquiring difficult loan plans. Possible solutions are time taking and have to be critically strategized but can bring a positive change. Private universities should be held accountable by the government for the program fee; any unnecessary charges should be excluded. Universities on an income-based model should be replaced with an education oriented one. Moreover another important remedy is to connect students with the right organizations for part time or full time jobs as individuals with a stable income are more likely to complete their programs than the contrary. To conclude, universities are generally not affordable for most people and the causes are both due to the lack of attention by the government and an effort to protest by student as well as their families. Policies to hold these institutes answerable while providing occupational opportunities to the students will resolve this problem.