Some people say cultural traditions are destroyed when they are used as money-making attractions aimed at tourists. Others say this is the only way to save such traditions. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

As a result of over centuries of intense advancements in our civilizations, we have reached a point where most cultures are converging due to globalization. Thus, it is our duty to preserve our historic heritage for the next generations to come. On the one hand, many suggest that by promotion through tourism, more funds would be channelled towards it. On the other hand, since most foreign visitors are not used to them, they could cause unwanted harm which would lead to the destruction of these traditions. In my opinion, even though this course of action could be detrimental, it is necessary for its maintenance. To commence with, obviously similar to every other issue, preserving the culture depends on the money spent. Since most governments are focused on other conundrums, they have turned a blind eye to this matter. Therefore, by increasing its attraction for travellers, not only we could catch the government's attention in order to request more funds, but also we could bill visitors directly. Hence, the needed money for maintenance purposes would be provided. Moreover, by introducing them to new tourists, we are indirectly postponing its inevitable expiration because the more people know about it, the less it is likely to be forgotten. On the contrary, it is argued that this course of action is rather destructive and is causing more damage than good. By giving access to the public, we are enabling everyone to visit them which means that, all manner of people with different educational and behavioural backgrounds would pay a visit. In spite of providing money to cover the repair costs, sometimes, they either intentionally or unintentionally damage historic monuments and insult traditions. An example of this would be the destruction of Perspolice in our country. After it had been ruined, fewer tourists have travelled to Iran. Consequently, we were unable to preach our tradition to the world and subsequently our culture is slowly fading away. To summarize, utilizing historical traditions to make money has the benefits of providing the needed money for maintenance however, it has certain demerits that cause harm to the culture. Nonetheless, personally, I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages and by restricting tourists activities we could prevent its destruction.