The natural resources such as oil, forests and fresh water are being consumed at an alarming rate. What problems does it cause? How can we solve these problems?

Natural resources such as oil, forests and freshwater are depleting at a drastic rate, which causes some pressing environmental consequences. In my opinion, governments could do much more to curb the exploitation of these non-renewable resources. The main ramification associated with the consumption of natural resources is the energy shortage. For example, with the excessive use of fossil fuels in industries such as automobile and manufacture, coal and gas are already running out. Another issue is that the burning of fossil fuels releases toxic gas emissions like carbon dioxide into the atmosphere, which is the primary culprit for air pollution and climate change. Other hazardous pollutants from vehicle exhaust fumes could endanger our body system, since they can cause diseases such as asthma, heart disease and even cancer. Furthermore, during the process of deforestation, which aimed for urban sprawl or agricultural lands, natural habitats for many wild lives have been severely destroyed, leaving those animals no food to live on and no room to inhabit. However, there are various steps that government could take to tackle these problems. Firstly, they could encourage the use of renewable and sustainable energy from solar, wind or water power. For example, they could grant subsidies or adopt favourable policies to eco-friendly industries such as the electronic vehicle business. Secondly, politicians have the power to impose laws and punitive penalties on companies, which could help to limit the release of exhaust fumes or sewage and to reduce deforestation as well. A third option would be to invest more in technological advances in order to mitigate these environmental problems. In conclusion, the depletion of natural resources has caused problems such as energy shortage and air pollution. Yet, governments could certainly implement a range of measures to preserve natural resources and save the environment.