The government has the duty to ensure its citizens have a healthy diet, while others believe it is individuals' responsibility. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Never has the topic concerning a healthy diet failed to attract our attention. However, when it comes to whether a healthy diet is the responsibility of the government or everyone, the supporters of each view have their own justifications. Some people are adamant that the government’s intervention is conductive, while others contend that individuals’ effort is essential. From my own perspective, the two views are not mutually exclusive. It is undeniable that the government’s intervention would bring some profits. First and foremost, the government can implement some laws and legislation to prohibit people from littering, especially in the sea and rivers. It is not rare to see that some abandoned items by residents are unrenewable or even poisonous. Some of these harmful materials are prone to be discarded into the sea. Hence, the public will be vulnerable to the food which contains poisonous slime, which will put the health of the public in jeopardy. By contrast, these measures would act as a deterrent effect and encourage the citizens to obey the law, which can alleviate such severe consequences. In addition, the government has the ability and responsibility to strengthen the enforcement of the laws and legislations to punish those who sell unhealthy food. It is not uncommon to see that some food manufacturers sometimes over-exaggerate the commodities and even make some counterfeit foods to cheat the customers. For some customers, they cannot distinguish whether the food is healthy or not, which is prone to make the customers be susceptible to the over-prevalent of advertisement. However, this policy is inclined to terminate/eradicate their misbehaviours and the public can eat safe and healthy foods Although the benefits of government’s supervision are multifarious, the merits of ourselves’ effort cannot be overlooked. To begin with, parents need to educate their children about the importance of a healthy diet. It is generally believed that an unhealthy diet can cause various health problems, especially for kids. By contrast, some young people are deficient in identifying which food is healthy or not. Therefore, parents should guide children to avoid eating unhealthy food such as junk food and sugary snacks during the day. In a long run, they can become increasingly health-conscious. Moreover, diets depend on the individual specific status and lifestyle. It is universally acknowledged that young people are facing severe situations/fierce competition to find a job, leading a hectic lifestyle. An example can be seen that some office workers lack time to do home-cook food or proper meal which rich in nutrients and vitamins. Consequently, they have a huge propensity for eating fast foods which contain too much fat, salt and sugar. As a result, people have their own lifestyles and these would not be easily