In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family?

It can be argued that the retired population, who live in senior homes, should be sponsored by the British government instead of their families. However, in my opinion, the family is the most responsible for these expenses and I will explain the reasons why relatives should take care of this concern. First of all, the government contributes in several ways to guarantee a comfortable quality of life when someone retires. They require companies to make monthly contributions to retirement funds of their employees, have special tax exemptions for older people and give discounts on certain medications. Therefore, authorities have already done their part in this matter. Secondly, people should be aware that this time of life is extremely expensive and they need to save money during their productive years. In Britain, workers have a good minimum wage, and they probably will not have problems saving money for the future. Moreover, their family, who live in a developed country should have time and money to help pay for all the costs of their elderly relatives. Therefore, it is obviously the responsibility of the old person’s loved ones to save money for their retirement and pay for all the costs. To conclude, families are the most responsible to pay for their elderly relatives’ accommodation because the government already contributes in many ways to them in Britain, and people have all their lives to plan their expenses for their retirement.