In a number of countries, some people think that it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Other believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

In recent years, the issue related to the purpose of transportation infrastructure developments has attracted the public’s attention. Some experts believe that a large contribution of railway systems will be beneficial for the country, while others oppose that an existing transport should be prioritised to the community. This essay will discuss both views of this controversy and personal aspect in favour will be given. On the one hand, the principal explanation of high-speed rail is well-functioning of economic activities. In other words, local logistics can be optimised by using the sophisticated railway system which is fully constructed by the government. China, for example, dramatically invested in the train development, achieving the advanced technology in this industry eventually. In addition, rail transportation stimulates an excursion. Eurostar is an international high-speed rail service connecting the UK with France, Belgium and the Netherlands. Consequently, the huge amount of income totally flows into the nation from abundant travelers. On the other hand, the opponent may argue that the public transport is the fundamental facility of the citizen. What this means that people can get a convenience from commuting without any obstacles. The expansion of transportation in Japan provides thoroughly merits to individuals, giving an illustration. This is because the government decentralises the advancement, despite rural areas. As a result, this can mitigate problems of overpopulation in the capital city. In conclusion, various reasons may have different perspective of this issue. I am inclined to believe that constructing new railway lines can be implemented along with improving existing mass transit. Therefore, the authority should make a wise decision in order to gain plentiful advantages towards these developments.