Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

In recent times, growing businesses require more effort, hence, working individuals spend most of their time at work, having minimal time for themselves at the end of the day. In spite of having both good and bad notable outcomes from this phenomenon, the drawbacks completely outweigh the benefits which will be elucidated further in this essay with appropriate examples. To begin with, a person who devotes most of his time for work can gradually build up stress. In addition, having little personal time to pursue a hobby can lead to depression due to the lack of escape. Secondly, a staff who works overtime can also suffer from health problems as he cannot spare time for physical activities. For instance, according to a survey by Melbourne School of Medicine, people who work overtime tend to develop obesity and back pain than those who work only regular hours. Lastly, due to the lack of work -life balance, a person can lose physical and emotional connection with loved ones since he cannot spare time for them. Because one normally enjoys leisure time with friends and family for bonding, they develop loneliness and lose touch with them. Conversely, it is also true that there are a few perks of working long hours. For one, given that leisure activities are quite costly, people can save money by investing more time at the office. Moreover, hardworking employees can acquire more recognition from their superiors and may be rewarded, for example, by a promotion or an increment in salary. However, these materialistic outcomes are incomparable to the losses. To conclude, despite offering the potential to save some cash and a likelihood of career progression, spending an enormous amount of time produces more disadvantages. From this behaviour, one can suffer from both physical and emotional consequences, thus, it is not recommended to opt this lifestyle.