Many students around the world don’t choose science subjects at university. Give the reasons for this and describe the impact on the community?

Science may be one of the most interesting and complex subjects to learn. However, it is a fact that most university students do not pick science as their top subject. This could be due to various reasons such as the level of difficulty or the lack of well-paying jobs in that field. I will discuss the various reasons in detail in this essay. Most schools do not provide a strong foundation for learning the basics of science. For example, from my experience, physics and chemistry were two of the subjects that everyone in my class loathed because of how difficult it was to learn them. Moreover, the teachers never tried to make it simpler or more enjoyable. Thus, many students chose the field of arts or language, as this appealed to them more. Another reason why students may not pick science in university is due to the lack of high-paying jobs in that field. The amount of hard work people need to put in to pass in those classes is wildly disproportionate to the pay and recognition they receive later on in their careers. For instance, you need years and years of hard work to become a doctor, after which you only receive a menial salary. In conclusion, the lack of young people in the science field has numerous negative consequences. There is a dearth of scientists and inventors in today's world. The choice of the younger generations to opt out of medical and scientific fields leads to a decline in the number of doctors and nurses, which in turn leads to mediocre healthcare. This in turn has disastrous consequences for the community and economy. These problems can only be overcome by giving children a good foundation in science at schools and increasing their interest levels by taking kids to science museums. Raising the salaries of such professions may also act as an incentive for more students to choose this discipline at university.